CANT HEAR THE BREAKS? HERE IS THE FIX:

Post Reply
User avatar
MrRho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16
Joined: 10 Nov 2017, 11:45

CANT HEAR THE BREAKS? HERE IS THE FIX:

Post: # 671Post MrRho
08 Jan 2018, 12:26

So you cannot hear the breaks? This is due to a skype codec that resets itself every time a new host connects. There is currently no automatic fix. Usually there is a station manager that will be on the back end of the studio in KY that must MANUALLY turn this setting on for you to hear the breaks. IF there is no one at the desk (folks have lives also) then you may only hear a faint "whoosh or static" during the break. YOU ARE STILL ON AIR and can be heard by the masses. -- There is a quick fix (with caveats).

On PC systems you can MANUALLY DISABLE the skype codec. If this is done, you WILL hear the breaks no matter what; but you must be aware that you may NOT be able to CONNECT a GUEST! - If you monologue that is OK; but keep this in mind: that you will probably have an issue connecting phone calls and guests!

To DISABLE the CODEC to HEAR BREAK but IMPAIR CALLS:

Go to your C: Drive (or where you keep skype) Usually it is: C:\Program Files (x86)\Skype\Phone
[on some (older and 32bit) systems it may be in C:\Program Files\Skype\Phone]
In that folder you will see a file called RTMCodecs.dll
You need to RENAME that file - you can call it RTMCodecs.dll.OLD or RTMCodecs.XXX or anything OTHER than the original name.
Next you will need to COMPLETELY QUIT (not just logout, but QUIT the skype program - or reboot)
After you restart Skype, you will get a "warning popup" - IGNORE and CANCEL the warning, DO NOT DOWNLOAD or reinstall.
Skype will start and you will now HEAR the BREAKS! - But remember calls may not work (if they do you are lucky)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Below is the text of a .bat file you can copy the text below and save it as a BATCH file like ADDCodec.bat and REMOVECodec.bat
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ADD:
-----------------
rename c:\"Program Files (x86)"\Skype\phone\RTMCodecs.OLD RTMCodecs.dll
echo OK ALL SET, CODEC IS BACK TO NORMAL - YOU NEED TO RESTART SKYPE - QUIT AND RESTART SKYPE -
timeout 30

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
REMOVE:
-------------------------
rename c:\"Program Files (x86)"\Skype\phone\RTMCodecs.dll RTMCodecs.OLD
echo OK ALL SET, YOU NEED TO RESTART SKYPE - QUIT AND RESTART SKYPE - DO NOT UPDATE - CANCEL ANY UPDATE AND IGNORE WARNINGS!
timeout 30
------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



User avatar
Mitchell
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 365
Joined: 09 Nov 2017, 14:43

Re: CANT HEAR THE BREAKS? HERE IS THE FIX:

Post: # 698Post Mitchell
13 Jan 2018, 21:24

What is the hard drive? .. HA HA HA just kidding MrRho, Thank You, BTW ??? Does it effect calls directly to your Skype number or those connecting through the station "Skype" call in to the host number?

User avatar
OLIVE2M
Posts: 6
Joined: 12 Nov 2017, 14:32

Re: CANT HEAR THE BREAKS? HERE IS THE FIX:

Post: # 792Post OLIVE2M
03 Feb 2018, 05:07

Right On MrRho :)

Post Reply

Return to “Production Self Help”